Geese are in the order Anseriformes (waterfowl), the family of Anatidae (ducks, geese and swans) and subfamily of Anserinae (swans and true geese) and Tribe of Anserini (true geese). The three major genera of true geese are:
The following are the living genera of true geese:
Anser - Grey Geese, including the
Domesticated goose Anser anser domesticus
Swan Goose Anser cygnoides
Chen - White Geese (often included in Anser)
Branta - Black Geese, such as the Canada goose.
The individual species in each genera are shown below. Photographs are presented for those highlighted in red.

The species of
Anser geese are:
a Bean-Goose Anser fabalis
Tundra Bean-Goose Anser serrirostris
Pink-footed Goose Anser brachyrhynchus
White-fronted Goose Anser albifrons
Greenland White-fronted Goose Anser (albifrons) flavirostris
Lesser White-fronted Goose Anser erythropus
Greylag Goose Anser anser
Bar-headed Goose Anser indicus
Snow Goose Anser caerulescens - sometimes separated in Chen
Ross's Goose Anser rossii - sometimes separated in Chen
Emperor Goose Anser canagicus
The species of Chen geese are:
Snow Goose, Chen caerulescens
Ross's Goose, Chen rossii
Emperor Goose, Chen canagica
These species of Branta geese are:
Brent or Brant Goose, Branta bernicla
Pale-bellied Brent Goose, Branta (bernicla) hrota
Black Brant, Branta bernicla nigricans
Barnacle Goose, Branta leucopsis
Canada Goose, Branta canadensis
Cackling Goose, Branta hutchinsii
Red-breasted Goose, Branta ruficollis
Hawaiian Goose or Nēnē, Branta sandvicensis

Tadorninae shelduck, sheldgease
Egyptian Goose Alopochen aegyptiacus
Chloephaga sheldgeese
Andean Goose Chloephaga melanoptera

Tribe Cereopsini
Genus Cereopsis - Cape Barren Goose or Pig Goose Cereopsis novaehollandiae