Jays are colorful, gregarious and nosy. They belong to the order of Passeriformes, and the crow family of Corvidae. The 36 species of New World American “blue” Jays are shown below. Photos are presented for those highlighted in red.

Florida Scrub Jay, Aphelocoma coerulescens
Island Scrub Jay, Aphelocoma insularis
Western Scrub Jay, Aphelocoma californica
Mexican Jay, Aphelocoma ultramarina
Unicolored Jay, Aphelocoma unicolor
Pinyon Jay, Gymnorhinus cyanocephalus
Steller's Jay, Cyanocitta stelleri
Blue Jay, Cyanocitta cristata
Black-throated Magpie-jay, Calocitta colliei
White-throated Magpie-jay, Calocitta formosa
Tufted Jay, Cyanocorax dickeyi
Black-chested Jay, Cyanocorax affinis
Green Jay, Cyanocorax ynca
Brown Jay, Cyanocorax morio
Bushy-crested Jay, Cyanocorax melanocyaneus
San Blas Jay, Cyanocorax sanblasianus
Yucatan Jay, Cyanocorax yucatanicus
Purplish-backed Jay, Cyanocorax beecheii
Purplish Jay, Cyanocorax cyanomelas
Azure Jay, Cyanocorax caeruleus
Violaceous Jay, Cyanocorax violaceus
Curl-crested Jay, Cyanocorax cristatellus
Azure-naped Jay, Cyanocorax heilprini
Cayenne Jay, Cyanocorax cayanus
Plush-crested Jay, Cyanocorax chrysops
White-naped Jay, Cyanocorax cyanopogon
White-tailed Jay, Cyanocorax mystacalis
Black-collared Jay, Cyanolyca armillata
Turquoise Jay, Cyanolyca turcosa
White-collared Jay, Cyanolyca viridicyana
Azure-hooded Jay, Cyanolyca cucullata
Beautiful Jay, Cyanolyca pulchra
Black-throated Jay, Cyanolyca pumilo
Dwarf Jay, Cyanolyca nana
Silvery-throated Jay, Cyanolyca argentigula
White-throated Jay, Cyanolyca mirabilis