consist of four living species in the genus Gallus in the subfamily of Phasianinae or pheasants. The four species are:

Red Junglefowl, Gallus gallus
Sri Lanka Junglefowl, Gallus lafayetii
Grey Junglefowl, Gallus sonneratii
Green Junglefowl, Gallus varius

There are several subspecies of Gallus based on geography.
G. g. gallus Indochina
G. g. bankiva Java
G. g. jabouillei Vietnam
G. g. murghi India
G. g. spadiceus Burma
G. g. domesticus (Chicken)

It is believed that the domestic chicken is derived from the Burma or
G. spadiceus subspecies.