Gulls or Seagulls are in the order Charadriiformes of birds that live near the water and of the family Laridae (seagulls, large grey or white birds). In this family there are 11 genera and 56 species. Larus is the largest genus consisting of 26 species. Photographs are presented for those species highlighted in red.
Genus Larus
Pacific Gull, Larus pacificus
Belcher's Gull, Larus belcheri
Olrog's Gull, Larus atlanticus
Laughing Gull, Larus atricilla
Black-tailed Gull, Larus crassirostris
Heermann's Gull, Larus heermanni
Herring Gull Larus argentatus
Common Gull or Mew Gull, Larus canus
Ring-billed Gull, Larus delawarensis
California Gull, Larus californicus
Great Black-backed Gull, Larus marinus
Kelp Gull, Larus dominicanus
Cape Gull, Larus dominicanus vetula
Glaucous-winged Gull, Larus glaucescens
Western Gull, Larus occidentalis
Yellow-footed Gull, Larus livens
Glaucous Gull, Larus hyperboreus
Iceland Gull, Larus glaucoides
Kumlien's Gull, Larus glaucoides kumlieni
Thayer's Gull, Larus thayeri
European Herring Gull, Larus argentatus
Heuglin's Gull, Larus heuglini
American Herring Gull, Larus smithsonianus
Yellow-legged Gull, Larus michahellis
Caspian Gull, Larus cachinnans
East Siberian Herring Gull, Larus vegae
Armenian Gull, Larus armenicus
Slaty-backed Gull, Larus schistisagus
Lesser Black-backed Gull, Larus fuscus
Genus Ichthyaetus
White-eyed Gull, Ichthyaetus leucophthalmus
Sooty Gull, Ichthyaetus hemprichii
Great Black-headed Gull, Ichthyaetus ichthyaetus
Audouin's Gull, Ichthyaetus audouinii
Mediterranean Gull, Ichthyaetus melanocephalus
Relict Gull, Ichthyaetus relictus
Genus Leucophaeus
Dolphin Gull, Leucophaeus scoresbii
Franklin's Gull, Leucophaeus pipixcan
Lava Gull, Leucophaeus fuliginosus
Gray Gull, Leucophaeus modestus
Genus Chroicocephalus
Silver Gull, Chroicocephalus novaehollandiae
Red-billed Gull, Chroicocephalus scopulinus
Hartlaub's Gull, Chroicocephalus hartlaubii
Brown-hooded Gull, Chroicocephalus maculipennis
Gray-hooded Gull, Chroicocephalus cirrocephalus
Andean Gull, Chroicocephalus serranus
Black-billed Gull, Chroicocephalus bulleri
Brown-headed Gull, Chroicocephalus brunnicephalus
Black-headed Gull, Chroicocephalus ridibundus
Slender-billed Gull, Chroicocephalus genei
Bonaparte's Gull, Chroicocephalus philadelphia
Genus Saundersilarus
Saunders's Gull, Saundersilarus saundersi
Genus Hydrocoloeus
Little Gull, Hydrocoloeus minutus
Genus Rhodostethia
Ross's Gull, Rhodostethia rosea
Genus Rissa
Black-legged Kittiwake, Rissa tridactyla
Red-legged Kittiwake, Rissa brevirostris
Genus Pagophila
Ivory Gull, Pagophila eburnea
Genus Xema
Sabine's Gull, Xema sabini
Genus Creagrus
Swallow-tailed Gull, Creagrus furcatus