Hawks are in the order of Accipitriformes that includes most of the daytime birds of prey, diurnal birds of prey: hawks, eagles, vultures, and others. This order excludes falcons that are in the order Falconiformes. Hawks are in the family of Accipitridae including hawks, eagles, kites, harriers and Old World vultures. There are many genera in this family. Those that are especially relevant to hawks are Buteo and Accipiter. Photographs are presented on those highlighted in red.

The subfamily
Buteoninae (buteonine hakws, true eagles and sea eagles). Some of the genera are:
Genus Buteo:
Augur Buzzard, Buteo (rufofuscus) augur.
Broad-winged Hawk, Buteo platypterus
Common Buzzard, Buteo buteo
Ferruginous Hawk, Buteo regalis
Galápagos Hawk, Buteo galapagoensis
Grey Hawk, Buteo nitidus
Harris Hawk Parabuteo unicinctus
Hawaiian Hawk, Buteo solitarius
Jackal Buzzard, Buteo rufofuscus
Long-legged Buzzard, Buteo rufinus
Madagascar Buzzard, Buteo brachypterus
Mountain Buzzard, Buteo oreophilus
Red-necked Buzzard, Buteo auguralis
Red-shouldered Hawk, Buteo lineatus
Red-tailed Hawk, Buteo jamaicensis
Ridgway's Hawk, Buteo ridgwayi
Roadside Hawk, Buteo magnirostris
Rough-legged Buzzard, Buteo lagopus
Rufous-tailed Hawk, Buteo ventralis
Short-tailed Hawk, Buteo brachyurus
Swainson's Hawk, Buteo swainsoni
Upland Buzzard, Buteo hemilasius
Variable Hawk, Buteo polyosoma
White-rumped Hawk, Buteo leucorrhous
White-tailed Hawk, Buteo albicaudatus
White-throated Hawk, Buteo albigula
Zone-tailed Hawk, Buteo albonotatus
Genus Busarellus:
Black-collared Hawk Busarellus nigricollis
Genus Leucopternis
Semiplumbeous Hawk Leucopternis semiplumbeus
Genus Buteogallus
Common Black Hawk Buteogallus anthracinus
Genus Parabuteo
Harris Hawk Parabuteo unicinctus
Genus Geranoaetus
Variable Hawk Geranoaetus polyosoma

The Subfamily Accipitrinae (goshawks, sparrowharks, and relatives) containes the Accipiter genus.
The species in the
Accipiter genus are:
Northern Goshawk, Accipiter gentilis
Eurasian Sparrowhawk, Accipiter nisus
Grey-bellied Goshawk, Accipiter poliogaster
Crested Goshawk, Accipiter trivirgatus
Sulawesi Goshawk, Accipiter griseiceps
Red-chested Goshawk, Accipiter toussenelii
African Goshawk, Accipiter tachiro
Chinese Goshawk, Accipiter soloensis
Frances's Sparrowhawk, Accipiter francesiae
Anjouan Island Sparrowhawk, Accipiter francesiae pusillus
Spot-tailed Goshawk, Accipiter trinotatus
Grey Goshawk, Accipiter novaehollandiae
Brown Goshawk, Accipiter fasciatus
Christmas Island Goshawk, Accipiter (fasciatus) natalis
Black-mantled Goshawk, Accipiter melanochlamys
Pied Goshawk, Accipiter albogularis
Fiji Goshawk, Accipiter rufitorques
White-bellied Goshawk, Accipiter haplochrous
Moluccan Goshawk, Accipiter henicogrammus
Grey-headed Goshawk, Accipiter poliocephalus
New Britain Goshawk, Accipiter princeps
Black Goshawk, Accipiter melanoleucus
Henst's Goshawk, Accipiter henstii
Meyer's Goshawk, Accipiter meyerianus
Chestnut-flanked Sparrowhawk, Accipiter castanilius
Nicobar Sparrowhawk, Accipiter butleri
Levant Sparrowhawk, Accipiter brevipes
Slaty-mantled Sparrowhawk, Accipiter luteoschistaceus
Imitator Sparrowhawk, Accipiter imitator
Red-thighed Sparrowhawk, Accipiter erythropus
Little Sparrowhawk, Accipiter minullus
Japanese Sparrowhawk, Accipiter gularis
Small Sparrowhawk, Accipiter nanus
Rufous-necked Sparrowhawk, Accipiter erythrauchen
Collared Sparrowhawk, Accipiter cirrocephalus
New Britain Sparrowhawk, Accipiter brachyurus
Vinous-breasted Sparrowhawk, Accipiter rhodogaster
Madagascar Sparrowhawk, Accipiter madagascariensis
Ovampo Sparrowhawk, Accipiter ovampensis
Rufous-chested Sparrowhawk, Accipiter rufiventris
Shikra, Accipiter badius
Tiny Hawk, Accipiter superciliosus – may belong in Hieraspiza
Semicollared Hawk, Accipiter collaris – may belong in Hieraspiza
Sharp-shinned Hawk, Accipiter striatus
White-breasted Hawk, Accipiter chionogaster
Plain-breasted Hawk, Accipiter ventralis
Rufous-thighed Hawk, Accipiter erythronemius
Cooper's Hawk, Accipiter cooperii
Gundlach's Hawk, Accipiter gundlachi
Bicoloured Hawk, Accipiter bicolor
Chilean Hawk, Accipiter (bicolor) chilensis
Besra, Accipiter virgatus

Subfamily Aquilinae
Black Hawk-Eagle or Tyrant Hawk-eagle, Spizaetus tyrannus
Black-and-white Hawk-Eagle, Spizaetus melanoleucus
Ornate Hawk-Eagle, Spizaetus ornatus
Black-and-chestnut Eagle, Spizaetus isidori
Crested Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus cirrhatus
Flores Hawk-Eagle Nisaetus floris
Mountain Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus nipalensis
Blyth's Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus alboniger (earlier Spizaetus alboniger)
Javan Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus bartelsi (earlier Spizaetus bartelsi)
Sulawesi Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus lanceolatus (earlier Spizaetus lanceolatus)
(Northern) Philippine Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus philippensis
Wallace's Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus nanus (earlier Spizaetus nanus)

Genus Cirus
Australasian Harrier Circus approximans