and Egrets are wading birds in the Ardeidae family. There are 64 recognized species in this family. Egrets are not a biologically distinct group from the herons, and tend to be named differently because they are mainly white and/or have decorative plumes. Although egrets have the same build as the larger herons, they tend to be smaller. The following are the genera and species of egret:

Genus Egretta
Little Egret, Egretta garzetta or Ardea garzetta
Snowy Egret, Egretta thula
Reddish Egret, Egretta rufescens
Slaty Egret, Egretta vinaceigula
Black Heron, Egretta ardesiaca
Tricolored Heron, Egretta tricolor (see Herons)
White-faced Heron, Egretta novaehollandiae or Ardea novaehollandiae
Little Blue Heron, Egretta caerulea (see Herons)
Eastern Reef Egret, Egretta sacra or also known as Pacific Reef Egret
Western Reef Heron, Egretta gularis
Dimorphic Egret, Egretta dimorpha
Chinese Egret, Egretta eulophotes

Genus Bubulcus
Cattle Egret, Bubulcus ibis

Genus Arsdea
Great Blue Heron, Ardea herodias (see herons)
Grey Heron, Ardea cinerea
Goliath Heron, Ardea goliath
Cocoi Heron, Ardea cocoi
White-necked Heron or Pacific Heron, Ardea pacifica
Black-headed Heron, Ardea melanocephala
Madagascar Heron, Ardea humbloti
White-bellied Heron, Ardea insignis
Great-billed Heron, Ardea sumatrana
Purple Heron, Ardea purpurea
Great Egret or Great White Egret, Ardea alba
Eastern Great Egret, Ardea modesta
Pied Heron, Ardea picata
Intermediate Egret, Ardea intermedia