Bustards are large Old World terrestrial birds that inhabit open country. They are very wary and difficult to approach in open fields. They belong to the family Otidae consisting of the following 10 genera and 26 species. The bustard with photos is highlighted in red.

Genus: Otis
Great Bustard, Otis tarda
Genus: Ardeotis
Arabian Bustard, Ardeotis arabs
Kori Bustard, Ardeotis kori, subspecies kori and struthinuclus
Great Indian Bustard, Ardeotis nigriceps
Australian Bustard, Ardeotis australis
Genus: Chlamydotis
Houbara Bustard, Chlamydotis undulata, subspecies undulata and fuertaventurae
Canarian Houbara, Chlamydotis undulata fuertaventurae
Macqueen's Bustard, Chlamydotis macqueenii[4]
Genus: Neotis
Ludwig's Bustard, Neotis ludwigii
Denham's Bustard, or Stanley Bustard, Neotis denhami
Heuglin's Bustard, Neotis heuglinii
Nubian Bustard, Neotis nuba
Genus: Eupodotis
Black Bustard, Eupodotis afra
White-quilled Bustard, Eupodotis afraoides
Blue Bustard, Eupodotis caerulescens
Little Brown Bustard, Eupodotis humilis
Rüppell's Bustard, Eupodotis rueppellii
White-bellied Bustard, Eupodotis senegalensis
Karoo Bustard, Eupodotis vigorsii
Genus: Lophotis
Savile's Bustard, Lophotis savilei
Buff-crested Bustard, Lophotis gindiana
Red-crested Bustard, Lophotis ruficrista
Genus: Lissotis
Black-bellied Bustard, Lissotis melanogaster
Hartlaub's Bustard, Lissotis hartlaubii
Genus: Houbaropsis
Bengal Florican, Houbaropsis bengalensis
Genus: Sypheotides
Lesser Florican, Sypheotides indica
Genus: Tetrax
Little Bustard, Tetrax tetrax