The skuas are a group of seabirds with about seven species forming the family Stercorariidae and the genus Stercorarius. The three smaller skuas are called jaegers in North America.
The English word "skua" comes from the Faroese name
skúgvur for the Great Skua, with the island of Skuvoy renowned for its colony of that bird. The word "jaeger" is derived from the German word Jäger, meaning "hunter".
Skuas nest on the ground in temperate and Arctic regions, and are long-distance migrants. They have even been sighted at the South Pole.

Species in the
Stercorarius genus are as follows:
Long-tailed Skua or Long-tailed Jaeger, Stercorarius longicaudus
Parasitic Skua or Arctic Jaeger, Stercorarius parasiticus
Pomarine Skua or Pomarine Jaeger, Stercorarius pomarinus
Chilean Skua, Stercorarius chilensis
South Polar Skua, Stercorarius maccormicki
Brown Skua, Stercorarius antarcticus
Falkland Skua, Stercorarius (antarcticus) antarcticus
Tristan Skua,
Stercorarius (antarcticus) hamiltoni
Subantarctic Skua,
Stercorarius (antarcticus) lonnbergi
Great Skua Stercorarius skua