is the common name for Pteroclididae, a family of sixteen species of bird, members of the order Pteroclidiformes. They are traditionally placed in two genera. The two central Asian species are classified as Syrrhaptes and the other fourteen species, from Africa and Asia, are placed in the genus Pterocles. They are ground dwelling birds restricted to treeless, open country, such as plains, savannahs and semi-deserts. They are distributed across northern, southern and eastern Africa, Madagascar, the Middle East and India through to central Asia. The ranges of the black-bellied sandgrouse and the pin-tailed sandgrouse extend into the Iberian Peninsula and France, and Pallas's sandgrouse occasionally breaks out in large numbers from its normal range in Asia.

Genera Pterocles
Pin-tailed sandgrouse, P. alchata
Namaqua sandgrouse, P. namaqua
Chestnut-bellied sandgrouse, P. exustus
Spotted sandgrouse, P. senegallus
Black-bellied sandgrouse, P. orientalis
Crowned sandgrouse, P. coronatus
Yellow-throated sandgrouse, P. gutturalis
Burchell's sandgrouse, P. burchelli
Madagascan sandgrouse, P. personatus
Black-faced sandgrouse, P. decoratus
Lichtenstein's sandgrouse, P. lichtensteinii
Double-banded sandgrouse, P. bicinctus
Painted sandgrouse, P. indicus
Four-banded sandgrouse, P. quadricinctus