The four Hawks photographed in Trinidad/Togabo are in Underlined Purple below. Photos of the remaining Hawks for this entire website are in red.

are in the order of Accipitriformes that includes most of the daytime birds of prey, diurnal birds of prey: hawks, eagles, vultures, and others. This order excludes falcons that are in the order Falconiformes. Hawks are in the family of Accipitridae including hawks, eagles, kites, harriers and Old World vultures. There are many genera in this family. Those that are especially relevant to hawks are Buteo and Accipiter. Photographs are presented on those highlighted in red.

The subfamily Buteoninae (buteonine hawks, true eagles and sea eagles). Some of the genera are:
Genus Buteo:
Augur Buzzard, Buteo (rufofuscus) augur.
Broad-winged Hawk Buteo platypterus
Common Buzzard, Buteo buteo
Ferruginous Hawk, Buteo regalis
Galápagos Hawk, Buteo galapagoensis
Grey Hawk, Buteo nitidus
Harris Hawk Parabuteo unicinctus
Hawaiian Hawk, Buteo solitarius
Jackal Buzzard, Buteo rufofuscus
Long-legged Buzzard, Buteo rufinus
Madagascar Buzzard, Buteo brachypterus
Mountain Buzzard, Buteo oreophilus
Red-necked Buzzard, Buteo auguralis
Red-shouldered Hawk, Buteo lineatus
Red-tailed Hawk, Buteo jamaicensis
Ridgway's Hawk, Buteo ridgwayi
Roadside Hawk, Buteo magnirostris
Rough-legged Buzzard, Buteo lagopus
Rufous-tailed Hawk, Buteo ventralis
Short-tailed Hawk, Buteo brachyurus
Swainson's Hawk, Buteo swainsoni
Upland Buzzard, Buteo hemilasius
Variable Hawk, Buteo polyosoma
White-rumped Hawk, Buteo leucorrhous
White-tailed Hawk, Buteo albicaudatus
White-throated Hawk, Buteo albigula
Zone-tailed Hawk, Buteo albonotatus
Genus Busarellus:
Black-collared Hawk Busarellus nigricollis
Genus Leucopternis
Semiplumbeous Hawk Leucopternis semiplumbeus
Genus Buteogallus
Common Black Hawk Buteogallus anthracinus
Great Black Hawk Buteogallus urubitina
Savannah Hawk Buteogallus meridionalis
Genus Parabuteo
Harris Hawk Parabuteo unicinctus

The Subfamily Accipitrinae (goshawks, sparrowharks, and relatives) containes the Accipiter genus.
One of the species in the Accipiter genus is:
Cooper's Hawk, Accipiter cooperii

Subfamily Aquilinae
Black Hawk-Eagle or Tyrant Hawk-eagle, Spizaetus tyrannus
Black-and-white Hawk-Eagle, Spizaetus melanoleucus
Ornate Hawk-Eagle, Spizaetus ornatus
Black-and-chestnut Eagle, Spizaetus isidori
Crested Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus cirrhatus
Flores Hawk-Eagle Nisaetus floris
Mountain Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus nipalensis
Blyth's Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus alboniger (earlier Spizaetus alboniger)
Javan Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus bartelsi (earlier Spizaetus bartelsi)
Sulawesi Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus lanceolatus (earlier Spizaetus lanceolatus)
(Northern) Philippine Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus philippensis
Wallace's Hawk-Eagle, Nisaetus nanus (earlier Spizaetus nanus)

Genus Cirus
Australasian Harrier Circus approximans