, those wonderful walking, flightless birds in the tuxedos, are n the order Sphenisciformes with is single family Spheniscidae (penguins) and subfamily Spheniscinae (modern penguins). The genera and species are as below. Photos are presented on the species highlighted in red.

Aptenodytes – Great penguins
King Penguin, Aptenodytes patagonicus
Emperor Penguin, Aptenodytes forsteri
Pygoscelis – Brush-tailed penguins
Adélie Penguin, Pygoscelis adeliae
Chinstrap Penguin, Pygoscelis antarctica
Gentoo Penguin, Pygoscelis papua
Eudyptula – Little penguins
Little Blue Penguin, Eudyptula minor
White-flippered Penguin, Eudyptula albosignata (provisional)
Spheniscus – Banded penguins
Magellanic Penguin, Spheniscus magellanicus
Humboldt Penguin, Spheniscus humboldti
Galapagos Penguin, Spheniscus mendiculus
African Penguin, Spheniscus demersus
MegadyptesLarge Diving Penguin
Yellow-eyed Penguin, Megadyptes antipodes
Eudyptes – Crested penguins
Fiordland Penguin, Eudyptes pachyrynchus
Snares Penguin, Eudyptes robustus
Erect-crested Penguin, Eudyptes sclateri
Rockhopper Penguin, Eudyptes chrysocome
Eastern Rockhopper Penguin, Eudyptes filholi
Northern Rockhopper Penguin, Eudyptes moseleyi
Royal Penguin, Eudyptes schlegeli (disputed)
Macaroni Penguin, Eudyptes chrysolophus

If you are wondering why the root Sphenis is in the order, family and one of the genera, Spheniscus demerus, or the Blackfooted penguin (also known as the African or jackass penguin) was the first penguin discovered and named by European explorers. Hence, the root "sphenis-" was applied many names relevant to subsequent penguins. The term “sphen” is derived from the Greek term meaning wedge, possibly referring to the general shape of penguins.